Women’s Track and Field Travels to Stonehill For Skyhawk Invitational

EASTON, MA – The Merrimack women's track and field team competed on Saturday afternoon at the Skyhawk Invitational held at W.B. Mason Stadium.

The Warriors had three runners compete in the 200 meter dash on Saturday with all three finishing in the top six in their respective sections. Freshman Desiree DeLeon (Salem, Mass.) led the way with a time of 27.82 seconds. Fellow freshmen Mary Murphy (Boxborough, Mass.) and Leah Hall (Lynn, Mass.) finished with times of 29.19 seconds and 29.89 seconds respectively.   

DeLeon, Murphy, and Hall also competed in the 100 meter dash. Murphy moved into 2nd place on the school's all-time record list with a time of 13.30 seconds, finishing third in her heat and 8th overall. DeLeon also moved into the top five all-time with a time of 13.41 seconds. Hall also did well in the event, finishing in 14.15 seconds.

Rebecca Ainscow (Derry, N.H.) and Briana Devereaux (Londonderry, N.H.) also had excellent days for the Warriors. Ainscow competed in the 5,000 meter run. She finished 4th overall with a time of 19:03.31 minutes. With that time, she moved herself into the top three in Merrimack Women's track and field history. Devereaux also placed 4th overall in her event. She competed in the 800 meter run and finished with a time of 2:17.82 minutes. With that time she set a personal best time for herself and also moved into first overall in Merrimack history, surpassing her old record of 2:22.35 minutes.

The lone member of the Warriors who competed in the high jump was freshman Ashley Wright (Somersworth, NH). She, like Ainscow and Devereaux, finished 4th in her event with a leap of 1.40 meters. In the long jump, freshman Janelle Clark (Springfield, Mass.) performed well again with a distance of 4.47 meters. To date, that jump puts her in the top three all-time in Merrimack history.

Finally, in the 1,500 meter run senior Ashley Sarris (Shelton, Conn.) finished in a time of 5:19.98 minutes.

Next weekend Merrimack will compete in the Springfield Invitational on Saturday April 21.