Dunn Earns Sportsmanship Award, Lucin All-Conference

SOUTH EASTON, MA – Seniors Caitlin Dunn (Middleton, MA) and Cristina Lucin (Wesley Chapel, FL) of the Merrimack College women’s tennis team were recognized by the Northeast-10 Conference Thursday for their accomplishments in the 2009-10 season.

The captain Dunn recorded a 9-4 record at No. 2 singles and a 7-4 record at No. 1 doubles (with Lucin), but on Thursday was recognized as the F. Paul Bogan Memorial Sportsmanship Award winner.  Lucin, who finished 11-1 at No. 1 singles in the Northeast-10, was named to the all-Conference second team.

In Dunn’s corner, head coach Chris Stevens spoke of Dunn’s career as a whole.

“Caitlin is a true Merrimack Warrior as she fights for every point.  She shows remarkable grace on and off the court with her wonderful attitude.”

Stevens and the Northeast-10 were not the only ones who noticed Dunn’s commitment and character.  A recipient of the 2009 Strength & Conditioning Award, Dunn’s coach in the weight room, Mike Kamal commented on the senior’s devotion to her school and team.

“Caitlin is an incredible team leader and looks after her teammates.  She brings a lot of pride and respect to the Merrimack name and has set a superb example for the underclassmen.”

With a 3.97 GPA as a criminology major, Lucin’s talent on the court closely rivals her work in the classroom.  Helping Merrimack to a Northeast-10 Tournament berth, Lucin was the Warriors trailblazer at the No. 1 spot.

“All of Cristina’s hard work and dedication to the team paid off throughout the year as she was a leader on the court for us,” said Stevens.  “She works hard in all aspects of her life so it is no surprise she has excelled on the court.”

Next year, Lucin heads to the University of Massachusetts-Amherst to undertake her doctorate in Sociology.  Receiving full-funding for the five-year program, Lucin will also serve as a Teaching Assistant while in Amherst.

2010 Women's Tennis All-Conference Awards

Vern Cox Player of the Year: Amber Chandronnait, So. New Hampshire

Freshman of the Year: Alena Mukdaprakorn, So. New Hampshire

F. Paul Bogan Memorial Sportsmanship Award: Caitlin Dunn, Merrimack

Coach of the Year: Greg Coache, So. New Hampshire


First Team 

No. 1 Singles: Amber Chandronnait - So. New Hampshire
No. 2 Singles: Alena Mukdaprakorn - So. New Hampshire
No. 3 Singles: Catalina Echeverry - So. New Hampshire
No. 4 Singles: Sarah Hickey - Stonehill
No. 5 Singles: Paige Frost - Stonehill
No. 6 Singles: Chelsea Haedrich - Stonehill
No. 1 Doubles: Amber Chandronnait and Alena Mukadaprakorn - So. New Hampshire
No. 2 Doubles: Catalina Echeverry and Alison Waring - So. New Hampshire
No. 3 Doubles: Emily Ogilvy and Jackie Smullen - Saint Michael's

Second Team
No. 1 Singles: Cristina Lucin - Merrimack
No. 2 Singles: Alda Ribeiro - Adelphi
No. 3 Singles: Michelle Gurda - Adelphi
No. 4 Singles: Rachel Litton - Bentley
No. 5 Singles: Alexandra Dalton - Saint Michael's
No. 6 Singles: Kara Pease - So. New Hampshire
No. 1 Doubles: Alda Ribeiro/Maria Toft - Adelphi
No. 2 Doubles: Marielle Artessa and Caroline Tisdell - Le Moyne
No. 3 Doubles: Chelsea Haedrich and Jacqueline Harrow - Stonehill

Third Team
No. 1 Singles: Tirzah Walrath - Le Moyne
No. 2 Singles: Erika Sartor - Saint Anselm
No. 3 Singles: Kara Murphy - Bentley
No. 3 Singles: Lindsay Simmons - Stonehill
No. 4 Singles: Marissa Charles - Assumption
No. 5 Singles: Amanda Aniboli - Adelphi
No. 6 Singles: Brittany Harbert - Bentley
No. 1 Doubles: Allison Cohen and Tirzah Walrath - Le Moyne
No. 2 Doubles: Nicole Byrnes and Michelle Gurda - Adelphi
No. 3 Doubles: Samantha Jean and Kara Pease - So. New Hampshire

All-Rookie Team
Michelle Gurda - Adelphi
Maria Toft - Adelphi
Rachel Litton - Bentley
Alexandra Lawrence - Saint Anselm
Alexandra Dalton - Saint Michael's
Alena Mukdaprakorn - So. New Hampshire
Paige Frost - Stonehill
Chelsea Haedrich - Stonehill
Jacqueline Harrow - Stonehill