McAdam’s OT Goal lifts Merrimack past #1 Le Moyne in NE-10 Championship

McAdam's Game-Winning Goal and Celebration / NE-10 Championship Report (.pdf)

Thanks to Pack Network and Northeast-10 TV for the clip

SYRACUSE, NY – With 0.8 seconds left in first overtime, sophomore and tournament MVP Brad McAdam (Nashanic Station, NJ) rifled a top-shelf blast past #1 Le Moyne College's Matt Krupka to give #7 Merrimack a 12-11 win and the school's second ever Northeast-10 Championship Sunday afternoon in Syracuse.

For Merrimack (13-3), it was the first Northeast-10 Championship since 2000 when head coach Mike Morgan played for the Warriors.  Merrimack defeated Le Moyne 12-7 in 2000 and has since made four trips to the title game, including the last two seasons.

“It's hard to describe how proud I am of these guys,” said a near-speechless Morgan on the sidelines following the overtime victory.  “I could tell our guys had a different sense of purpose coming into the game.  Even when Le Moyne made their run, we hung tough and did what we needed to do.  All in all, I couldn't be happier for our team.”

Despite winning its second-career Northeast-10 title, #7 Merrimack was not selected for the NCAA Tournament, which was announced late Sunday night. The Warriors' three losses, including two non-conference defeats to NYIT and St. Leo's, hurt their chances for their second straight appearance. Le Moyne, Limestone, Dowling and C.W. Post were selected to the Division II Final Four.

The Warriors finish their season 13-3 overall after defeating previously #1 and unbeaten Le Moyne 12-11 in overtime Sunday in the Northeast-10 Championship.  

For Le Moyne, it was their first loss of the season and second in the last 43 contests at home.  The last was against Bryant in 2008 when the Dolphins fell in the Northeast-10 Championship.

Despite giving up the game's first goal on Sunday, the Warriors answered with back-to-back goals from freshman Greg Melaugh (Billerica, MA) and senior Mark Webber (Mansfield, MA).  Following Webber's unassisted blast on a delayed transition goal to give Merrimack a 2-1 lead, Le Moyne scored two goals to take the lead back at 3-2, but Northeast-10 Rookie of the Year, Corey Lunney (Little Silver, NJ) made his presence known at the 13:21 mark of the second quarter, ripping a shot from the left side to knot the score at 3-3.

Going into the half tied 4-4 on a Bryan MacPhie (Scarborough, ME) score, the Warriors came out firing in the second when McPhie added two more in the first five minutes of second half play.  MacPhie, along with goalkeeper Cory Spinale (Wakefield, MA) were named to the all-Tournament team.  Spinale made 12 saves, including a game-saving block in extra time before McAdam's game-winner.

Though Merrimack took an 11-6 lead on McAdam's first goal at 11:52 of the fourth quarter, the Dolphins ran off five straight goals to tie the score at 11 with 37 ticks remaining.  Each team traded possession in overtime with key defensive stops on both sides of the ball, but it was Merrimack who had the last shot.

Winning the only face-off of overtime, Merrimack gained composure after relinquishing a previously comfortable lead late in the game.  McAdam's unassisted goal with less than a second was his 18th of the season, responsible for shocking Le Moyne on their home turf.

Despite being out-shot on the day, 44-36, the Warriors capitalized on extra man opportunities, scoring three goals with a man-advantage, two of which came in the second half.


#7 Merrimack (13-3): Bryan MacPhie 3-2, Greg Melaugh 2-1, Brad McAdam 2-0, Jordan Tiger 2-0, Michael Balbuena 1-1, Corey Lunney 1-0, Mark Webber 1-0. GOALKEEPING: Cory Spinale (W, 63:59, 11 GA, 12 saves).

#1 Le Moyne (14-1): Jack Harmatuk 3-0, Jack Venditti 3-0, Keith Vetter 2-1, Corey Bulken 1-2, Vinnie Alexander 1-1, Jikado Hanna 1-0. GOALKEEPING: Matt Krupka (OTL, 63:59, 12 GA, 10 saves).

2010 Northeast-10 Conference All-Championship Team

Brad McAdam (MVP) - MER
Cory Spinale - MER
Bryan MacPhie - MER

Matt Chadderdon - LEM
Keith Vetter - LEM