Collins Named Team MVP at Banquet; 2013-14 Captains Announced

Collins Named Team MVP at Banquet; 2013-14 Captains Announced

2012-13 Highlight Film

 NORTH ANDOVER, Mass. – Junior Mike Collins (Boston, Mass.) was named the Merrimack hockey team's MVP Thursday night at the annual banquet at the Andover Country Club while Jordan Heywood (Regina, Saskatchewan), Brendan Ellis (Kelowna, British Columbia), Rhett Bly (Regina, Saskatchewan) and Collins were named captains for the 2013-14 season.

As a junior, Collins led Merrimack in scoring and was a second-team All-American and the first first-team all-conference forward in school history.  He was also the runner-up for Hockey East Player of the Year.

Merrimack celebrated the most successful senior class in its Division I history Thursday night, honoring Kyle Bigos (Upland, Calif.), Brandon Brodhag (Brooklyn Park, Minn.), John Heffernan (Scituate, Mass.) and Nick Drew (Andover, Mass.). The Class of 2013 is the first class under head coach Mark Dennehy to reach the postseason in all four seasons.

Heywood was named team captain for the second straight season and will wear a letter for the third consecutive season. A second-team all-conference and all-New England honoree, Heywood was selected as the team's Best Defensive Player and the co-winner of the inaugural Tim Burke Warrior award, along with Bly

Bly also received the Unsung Hero Award, while Heffernan was presented with the Strength and Conditioning award. Freshman Brian Christie (West Chester, Pa.) won the Rookie of the Year honor after leading the freshman class in scoring.

Heywood will serve as the team's lone captain, with Bly, Collins and Ellis wearing serving as assistant captains.

This year's banquet was hosted by 2012 alum Ryan Flanigan, who was a co-winner for the Unsung Hero award in 2011.

Merrimack finished the 2012-13 campaign in sixth place, joining BU, BC and UNH as the only teams to finish in the top-six in each of the last four seasons.

Fans can call the ticket office at 978-837-5324 for season ticket information for the 2013-14 campaign or for complete renewal information.