Gramprey, Suozzo Named Merrimack Athletes of the Year

NORTH ANDOVER, MA – Gabrielle Gramprey (Brockton, MA) and James Suozzo (Everett, MA) were named the Merrimack College Athletes of the Year Thursday night at the Annual End-of-Year Student-Athlete Banquet in the Sakowich Campus Center.

Gramprey, a three-time All-American on the women’s soccer team, led the Warriors to the NCAA Tournament for the third straight season and graduates with over 100 points, just the 11th player in school history to accomplish that feat.

Suozzo, a sophomore on the football team, guided Merrimack to its second-ever Northeast-10 Championship and was named the NE-10 Most Valuable Player, first in program history. He led the Warriors to the top-ranked offense in the region and fourth in the country and was a first-team all-conference selection.

Kelly Pasquantonio (Plainville, MA) and Robbie Sabadoz (Ottawa, ON) were selected as the Male and Female Scholar Athletes of the Year.

Pasquantonio, who also earned this award as a sophomore in 2008, maintained a 3.55 GPA in the science and engineering school, while captaining the field hockey and women’s lacrosse teams and serving as the President of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). She led the field hockey team to its best season ever, while the women’s lacrosse team has won eight straight, most in school history.

Sabadoz, a sophomore on the men’s soccer team, was named the Northeast-10 Player of the Year and the NE-10 Men’s Soccer Scholar Athlete of the Year. With a 3.86 GPA as a business major, Sabadoz tied the school record with 19 goals this season, was named an All-American and was an All-District academic honoree by CoSIDA.

April Daugherty (Lincoln, RI) and Stephane Da Costa (Paris, France) were honored as the Male and Female Rookies of the Year.

Daugherty, the Co-NE-10 Rookie of the Year, led the field hockey team to its best season ever as she tallied 40 points, most in school history. She was named a second-team All-American by the NFHCA and led the country in assists per game.

Da Costa guided the hockey team to a Division I program record 16 wins, its first playoff appearance since 2004 and its first playoff victory since 1998.  The NCAA Rookie of the Year and Hockey East Rookie of the Year tallied 45 points, most ever by a Merrimack freshman, and was the first-ever five-time Hockey East Rookie of the Month.

Cristina Lucin (Wesley Chapel, FL), an all-conference selection from the women’s tennis team, received the award for the highest grade-point-average among female student-athletes, while hockey senior Andrew Braithwaite (Kingston, ON), a three-time recipient of this award, recorded the highest GPA among male student-athletes.

The cross country, hockey and tennis teams were named finalists for the highest male team GPA award, while the cross country, softball and tennis teams were the highest female team GPA finalists. The winners will be announced following the completion of the spring semester.

The volleyball team, who raised over $3000 for Breast Cancer Research and Awareness as part of the Northeast-10 and NCAA’s Dig Pink Initiative, received the Community Service Award.

Greg Basmajian (Haverhill, MA), a senior on the football team, was selected as the Athletic Training Student of the Year, as voted on by SAAC. Basmajian worked with the men’s basketball team and maintained a 3.3 grade-point-average.

Pasquantonio and Cory Spinale (Wakefield, MA) were honored as the Strength and Conditioning Athletes of the Year. Chosen by Strength Coach Mike Kamal, the awards are in recognition of achievement in the development of improved athletic performance through strength and conditioning excellence.

Local residents John Perrone and Tom Rys were honored as the Merrimack Fans of the Year. Perrone and Rys attend virtually every home game and numerous road games and support all of our student-athletes and enjoy the competition.

Sixty-five Merrimack student-athletes were recognized for having a GPA of over 3.5 and were named to the Merrimack Athletic Department Honor Roll for their efforts. The complete list is below.

As of April 28, three Merrimack teams (women’s soccer, men’s basketball, and men’s tennis) were named to the NCAA Tournament, while 12 teams reached the postseason. The Warriors’ 16 intercollegiate teams have won over 70% of their home games, while a record student attendance was set at hockey games. Thirty-nine student-athletes were all-conference honorees, while the average GPA of all student-athletes is just under 3.0, which is above the average of all Merrimack students.

Merrimack Student-Athlete Awards Reception Recap

Male Athlete of the Year: James Suozzo (football) 

Female Athlete of the Year: Gabby Gramprey (soccer) 

Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Robbie Sabadoz (soccer) 

Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Kelly Pasquantonio (FH/LAX) 

Male Rookie of the Year: Stephane Da Costa (hockey) 

Female Rookie of the Year: April Daugherty (field hockey) 

Highest Male GPA: Andrew Braithwaite (hockey) 

Highest Female GPA: Cristina Lucin (tennis) 

Highest Male Team GPA Finalists: Cross Country, Hockey, Tennis

Highest Female Team GPA Finalists: Cross Country, Softball, Tennis

Team Community Service Award: Volleyball 

Athletic Training Student of the Year: Greg Basmajian 

Fan of the Year: John Perrone, Tom Rys 

Strength and Conditioning Awards: Kelly Pasquantonio (field hockey, lacrosse), Cory Spinale (lacrosse)    

Strength and Conditioning Athletes of the Year: Garrett Boyd (football), Robbie Sabadoz (soccer), Brendan Mormile (cross country), Elyse Lorenz (volleyball), Dee Mency (basketball), Ryan McNeill, Brendan Pyburn (baseball), Matt Sweeney (lacrosse), Tim McHugh (tennis), Kerri Domohowski (soccer), Ashley Nadeau (field hockey), Jennifer Richard (cross country), Sara Benischek (basketball), Adam Ross (hockey), Emily Cummings (softball), Erica McMahon (lacrosse), Caitlin Dunn (tennis)

Athletic Department Honor Roll Recipients (3.5 GPA and above): Rebecca Ainscow, Sarah Benischek, Kerri Bergquist, Julie Binney, Ashley Bock, Andrew Braithwaite, Atlee Cahill, Ashley Childers, Emily Cummings, Patrick Delaney, Nick Desjardins, John Doherty, Kerri Domohowski, Petar Early, Dylan Ellis, Jason Fischer, Christina Fisher, Ryan Flanigan, Alejandro Fuchs, Katie Ganser, Petar Golijanin, Colleen Hall, Jake Halloran, Matt Hogan, Elizabeth Hopley, Caitlin Kamide, Caitlin Kasala-Hallinan, Irene Lantz, Michael Laracy, Chris Lawrence, Nicholas LoCoco, Elyse Lorenz, Rachel Lozeau, Cristina Lucin, Allison Lydon, Casey MacNeil, Joseph Mantoni, Meghan McClorey, Erin McMahon, Katelyn Meagher, Ed Medeiros, Casey Miller, Jamie Millett, Harry Mullin, Ashley Nadeau, Sam Nunes, Mark O’Flynn, Kelly Pasquantonio, Jessica Peacock, Victor Plaza, Jonathan Ravenelle, Jennifer Richard, J.C. Robitaille, Alyssa Rollins, Juan-Carlos Rosich, Gennifer Roy, Robbie Sabadoz, Kelly Schatzlein, Ryan Slattery, Laura Spang, Christopher Stanwyck, Colleen Strachan, Alexandra Thomas, Nicholas Vazquez, Heidi Wroblicky  

Dean’s List Students (3.25 – 3.49 GPA): Ashley Alnwick, Greg Basmajian, Nicholas Beal, Elvert Bodden, Jill Boyce, Bill Bradford, Joe Cucci, Victoria DeLacey,Lindsey deMont, Dominic Doenges, Krista Fazio, Alexandra Gallant, Marissa Gambale, Melissa Garabedian, Zachary Gilbert, Jimmy Goncalves, Monique Gosselin, Kiley Horne, Casey Koperniak, John Kravic, Patrick Lawlor, Kristen LeMay, Olof Lindhe, Kyle Lortie, Paul Manganiello, Greg Manning, Matthew Marini, Kara Melillo, Nicole Moran, Greg Motta, Kathleen O’Neill, Jennifer Otis, Francois Ouimet, Emily Para, Kacey Pickett, Meredith Prior, Nelson Santos De Graca, Peter Schielke, Derek Simpson, Karl Stollery, Kellie Sullivan, Radoslaw Szwelicki, Brianna Trabucco, Kylie Waddington, Ray Walker

Class of 2010



Men's Basketball

Men's Lacrosse

Men's Soccer


Women's Basketball

Women's Lacrosse

Women's Soccer

Women's Tennis

Women's Cross Country